Library Databases by Topic (subject)
click here if you'd like to view databases
in alphabetical order
-- database may
only be accessed from the library
Automobile Information
- Alldata
Online -
Comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information.
Chilton
Library - an automobile repair database that provides information
on thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most
popular vehicles of the past 30 years.
Business
- Business and Company ASAP - provides information on companies, markets and industries in business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.
- Business and Company Resource Center - The Business and Company Resource Center provides business, company, and industry information.
- General Business File ASAP - Provides access to broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings.
- Small Business Resource Center - Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
- Value
Line -
Provides
information, ratings and earning estimates related to companies
whose securities are publicly traded.
Computers
- Computer Database - Computer related product introduction, news and reviews.
Genealogy
- Ancestry
Library Edition -
Ancestry.com database, including census images. Access only at the
Howell District Library; you must come into the library to use this
database. - Biography and Genealogy Master Index - This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
- Heritage Quest Online - Contains census data, family records and local histories.
General Reference & Articles
- ABC
Clio State Geography -
Collection of state geography resources - ABC
Clio World Geography -
Collection of world geography resources - Academic OneFile - a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Discovering Collection - Essays, critical analyses, biographies, and timelines covering literature, history, biography, science and social studies.
- Expanded Academic ASAP - (provides access to scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers.
- Facts on File - Full text news and analysis from 1980 to the present.
- FirstSearch
- Provides access to 60 databases, including full text magazine
and newspaper articles. Some of the more popular databases are:
- ArticleFirst - Index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals.
- ERIC - provides access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, include links to full text.
- WilsonSelectPlus - contains full text articles in science, humanities, education and business
- WorldCat - Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - A databse of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- General Reference Center Gold - A general interest and business database, provides many full text articles.
- InfoTrac OneFile - One-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.
SIRS
Renaissance - provides dynamic information on architecture and
design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts,
philosophy and religion, and visual arts.
Health & Medical Information
CINAHL
Basic - an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health
professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database
provides indexing for 2,857 journals from the fields of nursing
and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records
dating back to 1982 with limited full text.- Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module - Indexes health journals and provides many full text articles. Includes links to many health-related sites and government databases.
- Health Reference Center Academic - A database providing full text articles on health topics
Legal Information / Law
- LegalForms Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.
- LegalTrac Access to articles in major law reviews, law journal, specialty law and bar association journal and legal newspapers.
Literature Resources
- Discovering CollectionEssays, critical analyses, biographies, and timelines covering literature, history, biography, science and social studies.
Newspapers
- Grand Rapids Press - Full text articles
- InfoTrac Custom 150 Full-Text Newspapers - A collection of newspapers from around the Country and the World
- New York Times - Full text from 1995
Reader's Fun
- NetLibrary eBooks - Over 15,000 digital titles are available for download to your computer. Click on this link, set up an account, and make your selections.
- What Do I Read Next? - Search your favorite authors, titles and series for your next book
NoveList
- Helps find the next best fiction book to read. Search by author,
title, series, plots or even books like the one you just finished.
Kids' Picks
- Kid's Edition - Provides access to magazines, newspapers and reference books for elementary school students.
- WorldBook Online - Premier online reference source containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, and editor-reviewed web sites.
Tweens' Picks
- Kids InfoBits - Access magazines, newspapers and reference material for Kindergarten students through Grade 5.
- Junior Edition - A periodical database for students in junior high and middle school.
- SIRS Discoverer - Articles and graphics from more than 1,400 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents for young researchers.
Teens' Picks
- Student Edition - A database designed for high school students with access to magazines, newspapers and reference books.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Provides information on social issues, viewpoint articles, overviews, statistics and full text articles.
- Professional Collection - Access to a collection of educational journals.
- SIRS Researcher - Contains full text articles from newspapers and magazines.
Spanish
- Informe - Contains Spanish Language Resources
More About Databases
Howell District Library subscribes to a wide array of quality information sources including "databases". Library Databases contain full-text and abstracts of magazine, newspaper and journal articles, include auto manuals, encyclopedias, and sample GED and GRE tests. Databases are either organized by topics (Health, News, Genealogy, etc) or they contain general information (News magazines, journals, etc).
Databases -- and the information within them -- are previewed by librarians and chosen for quality and accuracy of information. You can trust the information you get from library-based databases.
Students! Note - using the databases available through the library is acceptable for most homework assignments (check with your teacher).
Remember - if you need help, please Ask a Librarian for more info!