Mrs. Jeffries Series

Friday, June 3, 2016
Emily Brightwell
The Inspector and Mrs. Jeffries

In this Victorian cozy mystery series, the kind-hearted, well-meaning, and oblivious Scotland Yard Inspector Gerald Witherspoon owes his success at solving murders to his housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries, a whip-smart lady who could give Miss Marple a run for her money. Along with the rest of the household's servants, the policeman’s widow with superior sleuthing skills of her own helps her unwitting employer in his homicide investigations. In the first book of the series, The Inspector and Mrs. Jeffries, the sudden death of an unlikable doctor sets Inspector Witherspoon and his servants on the path of the culprit.

I listen to the books on audio. The audiobooks are well read by Lindy Nettleton. The first eight of the series are available as downloadable audiobooks through the library.

I love cozy mysteries and these books hit the spot. With 34 books in this series (the most recent of which was published this year, in 2016), this series-junkie shall be kept quite happy for a good while!


Interested in reading books in this series? Check our catalog.

Want to listen to the downloadable digital audiobooks on your mobile device using the Overdrive app, or simply stream them through your computer? Sign in to the MCLS Overdrive website using your library card number and PIN. Then simply search for the author Emily Brightwell to see all the available Mrs. Jeffries audiobooks.

(Need help downloading and using digital audiobooks and ebooks from the library? Visit the Reference Desk or Book a Librarian!)


Brandi T., Reference

Return to Blog